arms of the gsi proper colours


Fellowship of the Society is the highest honour that the Genealogical Society of Ireland can bestow on an existing Member or on any individual in recognition for various outstanding achievements and exceptional services in the fields of Genealogy, Heraldry and related subjects.

The role of the College of Fellows was enhanced by the Annual General Meeting in 2012 to encompass certain defined functions within the Society and in the promotion of an awareness, appreciation and knowledge of our genealogical and heraldic heritage.

In addition, the resolution adopted at the 2012 AGM designated the President of the Society, Rory J. Stanley, FGSI, as ex-officio Dean [Chairperson] of the College of Fellows. For further information see page 2.

GSI - Nov. 8 2010 Grenham  Minister

(Pictured above: Mr. John Grenham, MA, MAPGI, FIGRS, FGSI, accepting the special award of Fellowship of the Genealogical Society of Ireland on November 8th 2010 from Ms. Mary Hanafin, TD, Minister for Tourism, Culture & Sport, at the reception to mark the Society's 20th anniversary.)


Frieda Carroll (Dublin) Michael Merrigan (Dublin)
Joan Merrigan (Dublin) Seán Kane (Dublin)
Anthony Daly (Dublin) Liam Mac Alasdair (Dublin)
Barry O'Connor (Dublin) James Davidson (Antrim, Northern Ireland)
Stuart Rosenblatt (Dublin) Tony McCarthy (Cork)
Jim Herlihy (Cork) Brian Mitchell (Derry, Northern Ireland)
Rory J. Stanley (Dublin) Séamus O'Reilly (Dublin)
Séamus Moriarty (Dublin) Andrew M. Tully (South Africa / Australia)
David, The O Morchoe (Wexford) John Grenham (Dublin)

Deceased Fellows  

Denis O Conor Don, First President of the Society

Sr. M. Bernadette de Lourdes, OCarm (USA) 

Jean Reddin, Co. Founder & First Hon. Treasurer of the Society